Can I Quote Me?

Blog post after blog post, writers (myself included) love to quote the profound musings, thoughts, and philosophies of great writers and other famous individuals.

WHY?

Because we read those brilliant phrases and think to ourselves, gosh, I can’t believe how much Hemingway and I have in common. Imagine both of us feeling the same way about the writing process…. Sigh.

Don’t we all, in our various professions, (writers included) have thoughts worth sharing? Aren’t we all brimming with quotable feelings on the subjects closest to our hearts–thoughts so profound they deserve to go viral? Okay, I’ll back off a tad…. How about, quotable feelings so profound they deserve to get tweeted a few times?

Today, I have decided to quote someone who isn’t famous. She is a writer like so many other writers in the world. She sits at her computer daily, pouring out her inner most feelings, eats low-prep meals, drinks coffee in excess, dresses frumpy, celebrates the hole in her sweater, labeling it Wabi Sabi (see earlier post) for its natural, imperfect beauty, snarls at the ringing phone for snapping her from her stream of thought, ignores the precarious pile of crusty dishes in the sink, and sprays scented room freshener on the heap of smelly laundry. (Actually, it isn’t quite that bad…)

You’ve waited long enough. Drum roll, please…quote-me

To leave a comment, scroll to the top of this post and click Comment under the title.

5 thoughts on “Can I Quote Me?

  1. This is spot on! Haha, I smiled in complete and utter understanding πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing these very true truths about writers! (Could you see my crusty dishes through the screen or . . ? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy to read I’m not the only one who ignores a house that needs cleaning, dirty laundry, cooking, and other things that really, really need tended to so I can write. And who also snarls when interrupted…I’m good at that. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The house is quiet. My daughter is at school, my husband just left for work, the dog is napping, and I unplugged the phone. I’ve decided that the house cleaning can wait. If we get robbers, they are unlikely to steal my dirty dishes. Today I write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

