Writertales Gets A Blog Name Change

Before starting this blog, I googled my name. To my shock, up came over 7 million results! Yes you read that right… Seven million sites! I wondered how people would find me. I knew no editor or agent had that much time on their hands to page through such a long list to find me. Of course I blamed my husband (in jest) for not having a unique and memorable last name. I asked the members of my writing groups what their thoughts were on writers blogging under their name vs. a catchy title. Surprisingly, of the replies I received, more than 3/4 of the responses advised me to use a catchy title. I came up with a long list to google, and all but one were taken–thus Writertales was born.

So, why the name change?

At a picture book webinar I attended this past week, the presenting editor took a moment to talk about the importance of platform. When she came to the topic of blogs, she paused to state, what she considered, one of the top rules writers should follow.

If you want agents and editors to find you quickly, (note the key word – ‘quickly’) use your own name. Don’t get cute here.

I asked her what to do if you happened to share your name with 7 million other people.

“Add your middle initial,” she said.

A new Google search produced 1,560,000 results. Sure the shocking number took a nose dive, but not enough for my liking.

“What if over one and half million people share that name, too?” I asked the editor.

“Then you’ll have to use your maiden name together with your married name,” she said, “or publish under a pen name.”

The problem is that a pen name wouldn’t be MY name, and I don’t want to see a fictitious name on my writing.

Easy choice.

I am saying goodbye to Writertales and ask you to say hello to Leslie Leibhardt Goodman.

1013-blog

 

2 thoughts on “Writertales Gets A Blog Name Change

Leave a Reply

