An Easter Tale for the 50 Precious Words Contest

Easter Egg Border

I recently blogged about my friend, Vivian Kirkfield’s 50 Precious Words Contest. To recap, the rules are to write a story in 50 words flat for kids ages 12 or under. It can be prose, rhyme, free verse, silly or serious, and the title doesn’t count toward the word count. You can find the contest details here at Vivian’s blog.

After writing my entry, I challenged myself to write another 50-word story and another and another. Choosing which one to enter was a decision I put in my 10-year-old daughter’s lap. Being rather diplomatic for her years, she hugged me and claimed they were all good. But one of them made her laugh, and that is the one I am entering.

Easter Egg Border

Here is my 50-word story in the form of a letter to the Easter bunny.

Dear Easter Bunny Easter Egg Border

8 thoughts on “An Easter Tale for the 50 Precious Words Contest

  1. Hahaha…very funny, Leslie…and perfect for this time of year and for the contest!!!! Thank you so much for all of the support you have given my little challenge.
    I love the rhyme and the twist at the end! And writing it as a letter to the Easter Bunny is very clever. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was my pleasure to talk about your contest here at my blog. It looks like you got a tremendous turnout! You are going to have loads to read this weekend. The contest is brilliant, and I hope you decide to make it an annual event.

      I can’t believe how much fun I had condensing a story into 50 words. I often wondered and marveled at authors of sparse texts. Maybe it’s just a matter of telling yourself when you sit down to right that you only get 100 words to tell your story (or only 50 words).

      Like

Leave a Reply

