Perfect Picture Book Friday Goes Prehistoric!

Dinosaurs and cavemen both played a part in my childhood. My mother, a scientific illustrator at the Field Museum in Chicago, studied Dinosaurs, painted scenic backgrounds and illustrated a book in the “What is” scientific series called What is a Dinosaur, published by Benefic Press in 1961.

what-is-a-dinosaur

My father, on the other end of the spectrum, liked to make light in life and would often try to get our attention by saying, “Look! A Tetradactyl flew over  our house!”

Now, if you’re wondering how cavemen fit into my upbringing, that’s a source of stress. While my sister and I tried to get Dad to drink plenty of water each day, Dad would push the glass away and say, “You never hear about cavemen drinking water.” And, of course, a lack of water in Dad’s diet led to numerous visits to the doctor and on rare occasions, the emergency room. Having said that, I hope you’re inspired to pour yourself a glass of cool water and chug-a-lug.

I also grew up with the television show, The Flintstones. A funny program about Cavemen! Maybe all this is why I chose the book I did for this week’s Perfect Picture Book Friday review.

TEK The Modern Cave Boy

Title – TEK The Modern Cave Boy

Written and illustrated by – Patrick McDonnell

Published by – Little Brown and Company -2016

Suitable for ages – 4-8

Theme –  If you change your view, you might find a bigger and better life waiting for you.

Opening –  Once upon a time, way, way back, a long time ago, or maybe yesterday, there lived a little cave boy named Tek. Tek was pretty much your typical troglodyte child. Yes, he did have a beard, but everything was kind of hairy back then.

Amazon Review –  View it HERE.  From a beloved, bestselling Caldecott Honor recipient comes a hilarious reminder of how technology can take us backward… all the way to the times of prehistoric man!

Tek is a cave boy in love with tech: his tablet, video games, phone, and TV keep him deep in his cave, glued to his devices, day in and day out. He never sees his friends or family anymore–and his ability to communicate has devolved to just one word: “UGH”! Can anyone in the village convince Tek to unplug and come outside into the big, beautiful world?
A distinctive package and design cleverly evoke the experience of using an electronic device that eventually shuts down… and after a magic page turn, Tek (and the reader) reconnects with the real world.
Why do I like this book? Prehistoric times collide with the modern day world. What’s not to love?  The reader gets introduced to such amazing dinosaurs as the Watchamacallitasaurus, the Hoozdatasaurus, and a flying Idontgiveadactyl. We also learn, much to my amazement, that the internet was invented by the father of caveboy. Who knew? All that aside, the design of the book makes it stand out on the shelf. Shaped like a tablet, the book is complete with a page on which to enter your password. A lot of thought went into developing this clever, soon-to-be, childhood favorite.
Learn more about Patrick McDonnell HERE.

Find more “Perfect Picture Book Friday” reviews at Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog HERE.

20 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday Goes Prehistoric!

  1. What an unusual upbringing you had. You must know a lot about cavemen and that time period. This is a clever story about the prehistoric colliding with modern day. Wasn’t sure how I felt about that until I finished your review. Kids will learn a lot about dinosaurs in this story. Perfect choice today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t begin to guess at the number of flying tetradactyl my father claimed flew over our house. The number, I’m sure, is staggering. Aside from my father’s rich sense of humor, both my parents took my sister and me to the Field Museum numerous times to introduce us to many fascinating aspects of science. I always enjoyed searching for my mother’s initials in the vast displays. Each time I found one of her large backdrops or smaller pieces, I’d call out with pride, “My mother painted this.” This book, TEK The Modern Cave Boy, is one my father would have greatly enjoyed for it’s humor.

      Like

  2. Love learning about your background & how you were drawn to this book. This may not have been a book I would have noticed, but based on your review, I can’t wait to read it. Thank you! And, btw, the Flintstones theme is now stuck in my brain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

