Perfect Picture Book Friday Looks at More-igami

Folding paper for origami is something my mother taught me when I was about the same young age as Joey, the main character in today’s picture book, More-igami. I first learned how to fold simple creatures like bugs and puppies. Later, after learning the more challenging folds, I progressed up the ladder and folded my first crane. Granted, it looked like the poor bird barely escaped a major catastrophe with it slightly torn wing. (Translation: severed.) And with its crooked beak and many extra folds, what I really made was the origami equivalent of the creature from the black lagoon.

Crumple. Crumple. Crumple.

Eventually, after folding another five (make that fifteen) cranes, I succeeded.

Now, years later, my daughter is at the age where origami interests her. We have spent the last number of evenings pulling up instructions for various projects on youtube and following along with a fair amount of success. The perk is that with youtube, we can pause or back up any time we need extra clarification. The origami books I used when I was a child diagramed the steps with pictures, but those pictures often brought confusion followed by…

Crumple. Crumple. Crumple. Now, on to today’s Perfect Picture Book Friday review.

Title – More-igami

Written by – Dori Kleber  

illustrated by  – G. Brian Karas

Published by – Candlewick Press – 2016

Suitable for ages – 3-7

Topics – origami and determination

Opening – Joey loved things that folded. He collected old road maps. He played the accordion. He slept in a foldaway bed.

Amazon Review –  View it HEREA creative young boy with a passion for practicing origami finds a surprising source of encouragement on his diverse city block.

Joey loves things that fold: maps, beds, accordions, you name it. When a visiting mother of a classmate turns a plain piece of paper into a beautiful origami crane, his eyes pop. Maybe he can learn origami, too. It’s going to take practice — on his homework, the newspaper, the thirty-eight dollars in his mother’s purse . . . Enough! No more folding! But how can Joey become an origami master if he’s not allowed to practice? Is there anywhere that he can hone the skill that makes him happy — and maybe even make a new friend while he’s at it?

Why do I like this book? Joey’s passion for things that fold shows up in surprising places, and for the most part, Joey (and the reader) sees this as a curious interest. But then… when the mother of a classmate demonstrates the art of origami at school, the light burns brightly for Joey. He now sees a direction and endless possibilities for his folding passion. And even though his first attempts are less than successful, this determined boy lets nothing stop him from mastering his newfound art. Seriously. What’s not to love? 

Want to learn a little more about Dori Kleber? Click HERE.

Want to learn a little more about G. Brian Karas? Click HERE.

Projects

Easy origami projects to make with kids HERE.

Shop for origami paper and how-to books on Amazon HERE.

23 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday Looks at More-igami

  1. What a delightful book for kids. I love how the MC loves to fold just about anything and really becomes excited over learning origami. Kids love crafts, and origami is the perfect art form to try. It involves coordination and fine motor skills. And, it so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is a craft that has very broad appeal. I like how the author links it to a kid’s passion for folding things! Crumple, crumple, crumple.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes… Crumple, crumple, crumple, indeed. I just learned how to make origami dresses yesterday. Today, my writing table is sprinkled with vintage finery. My daughter fell in love with making origami book markers that slide over the corner of the page. She’s been decorating them like monsters, cows, pigs, and ducks. We’re having so much fun. I was glad to return to origami. I forgot how much fun it brought me as a child.

      Like

  3. I still have a box with leftover origami paper from my childhood! It is a special memory or that box wouldn’t have made it overseas and back through multiple domestic moves. I will look for this book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the wordplay in the title. I recently spent three hours folding on a rainy evening with (almost) no customers at the bookstore. Until I started tossing and gliding my creations and almost hit someone! Yikes – but it was FUN!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love how Joey folds any paper item he can get his hands on–including mom’s money. I tried folding an origami shirt when reviewing an origami book all about clothing. It was difficult and I had more than my share of Crumple. Crumple. Crumple. Love your post. Origami is a terrific actifvity for eye-hand coordiantion. Havinf an object you made is a wonderful end product of reading this book. Great choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. To get my daughter interested in origami, I started her off with very simple projects that only required four folds. When she gained confidence, we moved up to slightly more complex creations. As much as I don’t like to admit this, but my eleven-year-old has surpassed me with some of the complex origami projects she tackles. I hope after reading this book, your son will gain the patience to reach the goal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

