Perfect Picture Book Friday Meets The Cubs Famous Goat Curse.

Today’s Perfect Picture Book Friday review is about a famous animal curse. And speaking of feeling cursed by an animal… Did I ever tell you the story about the stray cat that cursed my living room when I was a child?

I was about ten at the time, drawing pictures on one of those sweltering, mid-west, summer days when my mom came in from gardening. “Look what I found tromping through my garden!” she said.

Mom held out her hands which were cupped together around something.

“A Luna Moth cocoon? A Walking Stick? A Monarch butterfly? What?” I asked.

Something inside my mother’s hands squirmed. A small pink nose pushed between her fingers followed by a set of whiskers and a dark-eyed, furry face.

Meeeeeeew!

I was in love.

My father, not an animal lover from way back, was not in love.

“Take it back outside where you found it before you or the kids get attached to it!” he said.

Too late.

Turns out, we all felt sorry for that poor, widdle kitty… even my dear dad. After Mom made a quick dash to the grocery store for cat food, she fed the kitty and returned to gardening. Then, I came into the kitchen. Moved to pity when the kitty gave me a look of desperation, I fed it. My sister strolled in a while later. Sure enough, she set out a bowl of food, too.

When my sister and I were back in our room, Dad entered the scene. With one sweet Meeeeeeew and a rub against his leg, he fell victim to the cat’s powers. I can still hear Dad’s voice, echoing over the chasm of time. “First everyone wants this stupid cat, and then they don’t think to feed the darned thing!” Yup! Poor, widdle kitty ate better than a king! Grew BIG as a king! Then, it developed… gas!

While the family gathered in the living room one evening to watch The Love Boat, (don’t judge me) that cat came rocketing through the room, leaving behind a trail of toxic exhaust.

Out of a natural survival instinct, I locked myself in my bedroom and gulped in the sweet, untainted air.

Dad’s voice thundered, “You wanted this darned cat! If we have to smell it, so do you! Get back out here, or that cat goes outside forever!”

Enough said. I wrapped a couple scarves around my nose and mouth and returned to the danger zone.

And, speaking of animals and curses, today’s picture book review is about a famous goat curse. I’m referring to the Chicago Cubs Billy Goat Curse that started with one stinky goat.

Title – Murphy’s Ticket: The Goofy Start and Glorious End of the Chicago Cubs Billy Goat Curse.

Written by – Brad Herzog

Illustrated by – David Leonard

Published by – Sleeping Bear Press – 2017

Topic – Chicago Cubs, Baseball team, historic curse

Opening – Like the famous ivy in Wrigley Field

that clings to the outfield wall,

a legend has grown throughout the years

about the curse of Chicago baseball.

It tells of a goat who lived long ago

and the fans of a lovable team,

who never lost their loyalty

or their faith in a World Series dream.

Amazon’s Review –  View it HERE. For 108 years, fans of Chicago Cubs baseball suffered every playoff season, with mishap after mishap each being traced back to 1945 when a friendly goat was kicked out of a World Series game. But the 2016 season felt different. Would this finally be the year that the Billy Goat Curse was reversed? Author Brad Herzog tells the story of the curse’s origin and follows the Cubs right through that fateful November night in 2016 when the Cubbies could finally fly the “W.”

 Why do I like this book? I have to admit I’ve been curious about the famous Cubs goat curse for years, and this upbeat, rhyming picture book tells the whole story, starting back when the famous goat was a baby that bounced off a truck and wandered into a saloon owned by Billy Sianis, the man who placed the curse.
Cub's Billy Goat
If you’re interested in reading the AMAZING coincidences about the Cub’s World Series win, check out this website.
Until next Friday!

12 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday Meets The Cubs Famous Goat Curse.

  1. Leslie, your childhood cat story sounds hysterical! Brought to mind a stray we befriended in grad school who left not just scents, but solids, throughout our tiny apartment. Needless to say, this was the first and last cat in our household (it didn’t help that I discovered that I’m allergic to cats). I wasn’t aware that the Cubs had a goat – what a fun find for the start of baseball season.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an awesome topic for a picture book! As a kid I watched the Cubs, and I remember my gruff uncle who’d sit in the breezeway (now that’s a blast from the past) glued to the little black and white TV for every game. Can’t wait to read this book! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maria, I agree with you about the opening. I thought the author was imaginative in comparing the growth of the legend to the ivy growth clinging to the outfield wall. Those first sentences are always the most challenging to nail, and this one lets the reader know they are in the hands of a master storyteller.

      Like

Your comments are welcomed.