A Parisian Night Before Christmas Picture Book That’s Tre’ Chic!

If you thought that picture books were written just for children, I’ve got a surprise for you. I was recently visiting Chicago, strolling through the decked out, lighted shops when…

What to my wandering eyes should appear,

but a book nestled snug between holly and deer.

It stood beneath branches all lit up and bright

like a treasure I’d found that came into my sight.

This book was just right for my fave holiday!

Twas the night before Christmas IN  PARIS, Hooray!

Away to the register, I made a mad dash

Flung open my purse and then laid out my cash.

One look at my cell and I saw it was three.

I grabbed book and receipt, and I started to flee.

My train left at four, so I started to jog.

I had to get home to start typing my blog.

This holiday version of this classic is sweet

I hope my dear followers find this a treat.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good read.

Title – The Night Before Christmas in Paris

Written by – Betty Lou Phillips and Roblyn Herndon

and illustrated by – Sheryl Dickert

Published by – Gibbs Smith – 2012

Opening – 

Twas the week before Christmas!

All over the world

The children were breathless

as visions unfurled

Of the magical time when their

dreams would take flight

And the sweet sound of sleigh bells

would ring in the night.

 

But Santa was frantic–

he wasn’t elated,

For his dear Mrs. Claus

could not be located.

The lists were not finished;

the maps were a mess,

And where to deliver

was anyone’s guess.

Amazon Review – A haute stocking stuffer for Paris lovers.

Haute couture and Paris sights capture Mrs. Claus’s imagination―as they would any woman’s! This charming story finds Mrs. Claus fabulously ensconced in Paris, having enjoyed fashion week and been lured for several months’ stay by all the sights, scents, and couture of Paris. In the end, Santa takes a quick tour of the City of Light himself―the Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysées, the Louvre, Tuileries Gardens, Notre Dame, Montmartre and more―to find the satiated Mrs. Claus and whisk her back home just in time to help the elves with the last-minute packing of toys for children all over the world.

Find more “Perfect Picture Book Friday” reviews at Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog HERE.

Until next Friday.

4 thoughts on “A Parisian Night Before Christmas Picture Book That’s Tre’ Chic!

Your comments are welcomed.