STEM + POETRY Meets Perfect Picture Book Friday

Growing up with an astrophysicist for a dad may account for the less than usual table topics my family enjoyed during breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack breaks, long drives… You get the picture.

Most of Dad’s “mini science talks” inspired me to ask questions…

“How is it possible for the sun and moon to share the sky this morning?”

“What would happen if I stumbled into a black hole?”

“Do aliens give each other birthday presents or hugs?”

I asked heaps of questions, and my dad answered them all. And if he didn’t know the answers to my questions about life on other planets, by golly, we had the best time inventing those worlds as well as the customs and traditions of their inhabitants.

One thing we didn’t do was to invent poems to explain this or that about the world of science. And that’s where today’s Perfect Picture Book Friday selection comes in handy!

Time to meet today’s special book!

Title – Science Verse

Written by – Jon Scieszka

Illustrated by –Lane Smith

Published by – Penguin Young Readers Group – 2004

Suitable for ages – 4-8

Topics/Theme –  STEM poems and science

Opening – On Wednesday in science class, Mr. Nwton says, “You know, if you listen closely enough, you can hear the poetry of science in everything.”

I listen closely. On Thursday, I start hearing the poetry. In fact, I start hearing everything as a science poem.

Mr. Newton has zapped me with a curse of SCIENCE VERSE.

(And the following pages are filled with some of the most entertaining, giggle-worthy science poems you’ve ever heard!)

Amazon Review HERE — What if a boring lesson about the food chain becomes a sing-aloud celebration about predators and prey? A twinkle-twinkle little star transforms into a twinkle-less, sunshine-eating-and rhyming Black Hole? What if amoebas, combustion, metamorphosis, viruses, the creation of the universe are all irresistible, laugh-out-loud poetry? Well, you’re thinking in science verse, that’s what. And if you can’t stop the rhymes . . . the atomic joke is on you. Only the amazing talents of Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith, the team who created Math Curse, could make science so much fun.

Why do I like this book? Simply put, this book makes learning about science fun! And I dare you to try and read it aloud without singing. That’s right. I said SINGING! This book isn’t just a collection of science poems; each poem is written to the tune of a well-known poem or nursery rhyme. Picture me, sitting on one of those little chairs at the library, singing to a poem in this book titled TWINK. Yup, you guessed it, TWINK is a science poem written to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star. Join me for the first line, won’t you?

Twinkle-less, twinkle-less spot of black, in the starry zodiac…

Jon Scieszka’s poems deliver fun facts about science with a heavy-hand of humor. Now, tie those poems together with Lane Smith’s AMAZING illustrations, and you’ve got a book you’ll want to own.

More Science Learning

If you LOVE all things science, hop over to the S.T.E.A.M Powered Poetry Vlog HERE where your host, and my good friend, Heidi Bee Roemer is ready to take you on a fun journey into the world of science through kid-friendly poetry videos!

Watch 10 easy science experiments you can share with kids HERE.

Cool-to-watch and do experiments with water HERE.

Learn more about Jon Scieszka HERE.

Learn more about Lane Smith HERE.

Until next Friday!

12 thoughts on “STEM + POETRY Meets Perfect Picture Book Friday

  1. I feel like I’ve seen this cover before, but I don’t remember reading it. And from your description, it should have been memorable, so I know I HAVEN’T read this book. That’s about to be rectified. I would love to have known your father! What a great way to grow up! Thanks for the rec!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for this terrific recommendation, Leslie! I love Jon Scieska, and wasn’t aware he’d written a collection of poems. Seems this should be part of every children’s poet’s collection — if not every teacher’s. Your critique reinforces the idea that learning is integrated. What a great pairing Science Verse can be with the S.T.E.A.M. vlog, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments are welcomed.